The importance of using primer

I always assumed primer was one of those pointless extra things designed to add time and products to a morning routine without necessarily doing anything useful. Then I actually got some, and it does exactly what it’s meant to-it smooths, it evens, it gives a lovely strokeable surface and makes my foundation last hours longer. Primer is ace. I only bought mine by accident-I had heard good things about Barbara Daly (Tesco range) nail products, so popped in for a brilliant undercoat/topcoat/clear polish called Goodbye Yellow, (has outlasted ALL nail polishes of mine so far, four days and no chips, makes my nails look properly done) and realised I needed a new foundation, so picked up one of those too (Moisture Foundation in Porcelain-very nice finish, will keep using this one). THEN I noticed that they had a 3 for 2 on all Barbara Daly things, and the primer was next to the foundation, and I’m pretty lazy, so just picked up one of those. It is great stuff, looks a mad orange colour, but I could almost go without foundation once it’s on (and with the shocking state of my skin at the moment, that’s saying something!)

Current make up looks like this-

Primer, Moisture Foundation in Porcelain, Benefit’s Lemon Aid on eyelids, nameless concealer on spots

Then Bourjois nudey looking eyeshadow, any black mascara, Dandelion by Benefit blusher and Brow Zing in Light (another Benefit one)

Takes less than 5 minutes in the morning, lasts almost all day-my back to work face is sorted!

Leave a comment