I was on a break

I’ve had a few weeks off. I wasn’t planning to, but it had got to the point where the idea of having to switch my laptop on in the evening was just TOO HARD so I thought a break was in order. Sometimes, it all just gets a bit much.

Things that were depressing me
-The amazing non-sleeping baby
-Friends with babies the same age saying how great it is now they’re sleeping through the night, and me saying ‘Oh that sounds lovely, we’re still being woken up every two hours ha ha’ and them doing sympathetic head tilts at me
-The losing weight is FUN! switch in my head had turned itself off, and I’d really piled it on
-None of my clothes fit me (see above)
-Dreadful skin
-One of my toenails really hurt
-I still can’t open the petrol cap on the car, so my husband has to fill it up for me. This is mortifying, but I just can’t do it (and the power of positive thinking has left me looking like an arse on the forecourt as I spin the cap round repeatedly trying to make it click properly on more than one occasion)

Things I’ve done to try to improve things

-Been horrified by several recent photos, and started losing weight again. I’m short, I just don’t carry excess well
-Managed to fit my arse into a few more bits of clothing (VERY dull only having one pair of trousers you can actually get into)
-Been to the GP for the pill, and to get on the waiting list to see a dermatologist. I think I need Roaccutane again
-Cursed everyone who told me that having a baby would stop adult acne. It hasn’t. Thanks all.
-Been to the podiatrist again and got her to sort the sad toenail out
-Accepted that my baby won’t sleep for more than two hours at a time till he’s ready, and I can replace the car in two years, and get one with a petrol cap that doesn’t need witchcraft to open it

Things are looking up!

Leave a Reply

