My glamorous life

The baby has a cold. When babies have colds, they make very sad faces, snot everywhere, and stop sleeping because they feel so awful. That’s all familiar-I’m much the same myself when a cold strikes. What I didn’t know is that they can also projectile vom everywhere because they swallow so much mucus. Leading to today’s glam post, in which I ended up literally covered in sick yesterday evening, after snuggling up on the bed to cuddle the poor sad hot-cheeked baby. Top parenting tip-if your child ever makes a noise that sounds interestingly prehistoric (I thought it was quite like an angry stegosaurus) hold them at arms length to avoid the worst!

After stripping the baby, the bed and myself, I put the washing machine on super hot, ran the boy a bath and hosed him down, and he went to sleep clean and sweet smelling, just in time for my husband to arrive home and see an adorable sleeping child. I handed over full responsibility for the baby to my husband and went and ran the hottest bath I could get out of our ancient boiler, and added a lot of Molton Brown Heavenly Gingerlily bubbles. I had a good scrub, then lounged around and read my book, put a hair mask on and combed it through, and eventually emerged, pink, glowing and ready for bed. Which all went to plan, until I was woken up by the small coldy boy managing to throw up on me through the bars of his cot. Cleanup round two was a bit less Molton Brown and bath lounging and a lot more Wash and Go in the shower-luckily, we’ve stayed sick free as a household for nearly 24 hours, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the cold is on its way out!

Leave a Reply

