Back to work-a month on

I meant to write this last week, when it actually was a month since I returned to work, but I was so knackered I just went to bed instead. Sorry about that.  Everyone told me I’d be tired, and in my head I went ‘I’m tired now, why would that stop when I’m back at work?’ but no, it’s actually worse! Because even when I haven’t had much sleep, I have to put on grown up clothes and blowdry my hair and sit in meetings with a notebook saying things like ‘What KPIs are you putting in place to keep the team on track?’ (not really, I’d poke myself in the eye if I ever sounded like that. But I do say work stuff, whereas maternity leave was very much about reading Peepo on repeat all week and saying ‘Oh dear, you bumped yourself, shall Mummy have a look?’ very calmly while inwardly panicking and thinking ‘please Lord, don’t let that be actual blood coming out of your still very small head.’)

So, how is it going? I feel very settled and like being back in my old chair, which survived a furniture cull which took all the other chairs just like it away and replaced them with terrible new ergonomic ones. I like having an income again, and a commute all by myself (CD of the week-Les Mis, as I’ve finally seen the film and am OBSESSED) and I like having a lunch break and seeing my work friends and being able to make phone calls in hours of daylight without having it take three times as long due to a wailey baby shutting his fingers in a drawer/trying to suck electrical cables/finding the recycling pile and wanting to eat or roll in it.  I love how jolly the baby is when he sees his key workers every morning, and how delighted he is when I pick him up in the evenings. I’d rather not be asleep by half eight most evenings, and one week in particular felt like it was never going to end, but I’m getting there. And I feel more myself again, and I like that very much. Some things are helping (packing the car with everything I need for the next day in the evening, early nights, more takeaways than we’d usually have, the joy that is realising I have a handy Ella’s Kitchen pouch in the cupboard when I’ve forgotten to defrost something for the baby’s lunch) and some things not helping so much (having a cold, the baby teething, my husband starting a new job further away and getting home much later).  We’re getting there, and I think it’s going to be just fine.

2 thoughts on “Back to work-a month on

Leave a Reply

