A slightly dejected Christmas Eve post

So, the baby has stopped going to sleep in the evenings. It’s quite tiring for everyone, and very very dull. He is taking it as a personal insult that we are putting him in a COT, at SEVEN O’CLOCK, when we are clearly intending to drink wine, eat food that isn’t baby rice, and have fun while he is asleep. So my lovely evenings, clear for hours at a time while he sleeps happily, have been paused for now. No free time for applying nail polish, face masks and lovely long baths-nope, I now sit here, tensed and twitchy, waiting for him to shriek over the monitor, then run up the stairs two at a time to soothe and sing, and try to help him sleep again.

Super quick fixes for difficult evenings? I take my nail polish off, file my nails smooth and buff them so they’re nice and shiny. I apply hand cream. I keep my tweezers downstairs and tidy up the odd stray eyebrow hair. I file my feet smooth, and use a rich foot cream with warm socks over the top. And I wait for him to shout, and hope this phase doesn’t last long.

Leave a Reply

